Central Magnet School

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle


Mu Alpha Theta is an organization whose purpose is to stimulate interest in mathematics by providing public recognition of superior mathematical scholarship and by promoting various mathematical activities. 
For more Information: Click HERE for the PowerPoint
Math Tutoring Times: Wednesday afternoons, 3-4pm
Be Active: Math team(see below) or Tutoring (Study Buddy or CMS times see above)

2019-2020 Officers

President: Morgan Cramer

Vice Presidents:

VP of Student Enrollment - Julia Son

VP of Community Outreach - Aliyah Weaver

VP of Tutoring Services - Kendall Sprague

VP of National MAO Participation - Pragya Jha

Secretary: Rachel Qualls

Treasurer: Lizbeth Lozano

Math Team Captains:

Int. Math 1 and 2 Team - Faith Viers

Int. Math 3 and above Team - Robert Deaton and Michael Sowell
Past IML contests links - SEE BELOW
Fall 2019 contests
August  Fall Kickoff @ RM 116; 7:20-7:45
Nov. 7 IML @ JP2; leave school @2:15 - return to school @8:00 NEED PERMISSION SLIP
Nov. 14 Interschool Rocket City; @ Central from 3:20-4:00pm (30 minute contest)
Dec. 5 IML @Central Magnet; Need helpers that night (Same permission slip for all IMLs)
Spring 2020 contests
Feb. 6  IML @ MBA; leave school @2:15 - return to school @8:00(Same permission slip for all IMLs)
Mar.3 Rutherford County Math Contest @ Blackman High School @ 9am - no permission slip needed - provide your own transportation
Mar. 5 IML @Ensworth High School; leave school @2:15 - return to school @8:00 (Same permission slip for all IMLs)
March 6-7  State Mu Alpha Theta Convention @ Farragut HS in Knoxville, TN NEED PERMISSION SLIP
March ? - STEAM Festival - More info to come
April TMTA @MTSU; leave school @8:30 - return to school @2:30 NEED PERMISSION SLIP
Requirements: FULL MEMBERSHIP: High School students, grades 9-12, who have COMPLETED the equivalent of four semesters of mathematics, Integrated 1 and Integrated 2, and in addition have completed or are enrolled in a still more advanced course, are eligible for full membership providing their mathematical work was done with distinction of 3.5 average on a 4.0 scale.
ASSOCIATE MEMBERSHIP: HS student grades 9-12, who have COMPLETED two semesters of Integrated 1 or their equivalent with distinction and who have enrolled in a third semester of mathematics are eligible for associate membership. Associate members do not pay the fee but will be registered with the national office, if they wish to compete in national contests or conventions.

Yearly fee: $10
Senior Cords: $6
Mrs. Smithson
Mrs. Pigg
Mrs. Charboneau

Room 116
B Rotation and D Rotation
Thank you, 2018-2019 Officers, for a GREAT YEAR!!!
Congratulations, Seniors, we will miss you!!